Log in
Indiana Lakes Management Society

Indiana lakeS

management society

Log in

ILMS Awards

ILMS is always excited to recognize individuals and groups who do an outstanding job improving lake quality by issuing one or more of the following awards at our annual conference.

Outstanding Lake Association

This award may be bestowed annually upon an Indiana Lake Association that has succeeded in or made noteworthy efforts towards significantly improving its local lake quality.

Outstanding Implementation Project

This award may be bestowed annually upon a designer, contractor, or Lake Association for an outstanding implementation project for improved lake quality.

Volunteer of the Year

This award may be bestowed annually upon an ILMS member who has shown exceptional dedication and achievement in volunteer lake monitoring, assisting a lake association, or other efforts to improve lake quality.

Nominations for these awards are accepted in the fall through an online nomination form.  Awards are presented at the banquet at the Annual Conference (usually in March).  

Past Award Recipients

2024 Volunteer of the Year

Ronald Vaughn (Pretty Lake Conservation Club)

2024 Outstanding Project Award

LaGrange County Strategic Water Quality Monitoring Program

2024 Outstanding Lake Association Award

Steuben County Lakes Council

2023 Volunteer of the Year

Walt Hessler (The Watershed Foundation)

2023 Outstanding Project Award Lake Lemon Conservancy District Dredging Project

2023 Outstanding Lake Association Cordry-Sweetwater Conservancy District

2022 Volunteer of the Year

Diana Castell, Wawassee Area Conservancy Foundation

2022 Outstanding Project Award  Clear Lake Township Land Conservancy, Cyrus Brouse Clean Stream Project 

2022 Outstanding Lake Association  Wawasee Area Conservancy Foundation 

  Volunteer of the Year

Outstanding Implementation Project

of the Year

Watershed/Lake Group of the Year (Outstanding Lake Association)
2019 Ann Deutch & tom Hougham, Lamb Lake The Watershed Foundation, Winona Lake Limitless Park Project Valparaiso Chain of Lakes Watershed Group, Inc
2018 Pete Hippensteel, Steuben County Lakes Council Webster Lake Conservation Association, Kline Island Project Steuben County Lakes Council
2017 Tom Camire, Koontz Lake Wabash River Enhancement Corporation, LARE Raingarden Projects

City of Bloomington Parks and


2016 Jane Loomis, Upper Lakes of the Tippecanoe River O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Griffy Lake Extended Drawdown Study

Lower Salamonie and Upper

Salamonie Watershed Group

2015 Ray Dausman, Lake Manitou Association Tippecanoe Watershed Foundation, Soil Health Initiative

Knapp Lake Area Conservancy


2014 Annie Skinner, Clear Lake Association Tippecanoe Watershed Foundation, Healthy Shorelines Initiative Lagrange County Lakes Council
2013 Larry Lehman, Indiana Lake Association The Center at Donaldson, Poor Handmaids

Wawasee Area Conservancy


2012 Bill Schmidt, Clear Lake Association & Steuben County Lakes Council Lake Lemon Conservancy District Yellow Creek Watershed Association
2011 Joe Costello, Sylvan Lake Improvement Association Cedar Lake Town Club Drainage Project

Clear Lake Watershed Land


2010 Bill Jones, Indiana Clean Lakes Program   Tippecanoe Watershed Foundation
2008 Everett Lienhart, Heaton Lake    
2007 Bob Myers, Wawasee Area Conservancy Foundation    
2006 Bob Smith, Tippecanoe Watershed Foundation    

© Indiana Lakes Management Society
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software